Gov’t Mule is an American southern rock jam band formed in 1994 by guitarist and vocalist Warren Haynes and bassist Allen Woody, both members of The Allman Brothers Band at the time. The duo was later joined by drummer Matt Abts, completing the original power trio lineup. Known for their raw, bluesy sound, dynamic live performances, and extensive improvisation, Gov’t Mule has become a staple of the American rock scene.

The band released their self-titled debut album in 1995, which was followed by the critically acclaimed “Dose” in 1998. Tragedy struck in 2000 when Allen Woody passed away, but Gov’t Mule persisted, enlisting numerous bass players to fill Woody’s shoes, including Oteil Burbridge, Les Claypool, and Dave Schools. In 2003, Andy Hess permanently took over bass duties, and the band was later joined by keyboardist Danny Louis in 2002, expanding their lineup to a quartet.

Throughout their career, Gov’t Mule has released more than a dozen studio albums, including “The Deep End, Volume 1” (2001) and “The Deep End, Volume 2” (2002), which featured an array of guest bassists paying tribute to Woody. The band’s live performances are legendary, often featuring extended jams and guest musicians, which have helped solidify their devoted fan base.

Gov’t Mule continues to tour and record, with their most recent album, “Heavy Load Blues” (2021), marking a return to their blues roots. The band’s unique blend of southern rock, blues, and improvisational prowess has earned them a dedicated following and a prominent place in the history of American rock music.